NASPAA Conference Track: “Recruiting the Next Generation to Public Service in a Changing World”

I’m serving on the Conference Committee for the 2017 NASPAA Conference, “Confidence in Public and Nonprofit Institutions: How is it Built, How is it Lost, and How is it Regained?”. There are four tracks. In particular, I’ve been asked to help find presenters and panels for Track 4 “Recruiting the Next Generation to Public Service in a Changing World”.

I think this is a great opportunity to help shape the discussion of public affairs training and it’s impact on recruiting new people to public service. Let me know if you have ideas, proposals, or recommendations about the track and its panels.

CFP: Are We All Touching the Same Camel?




Deadline-March 27 George Washington University Washington, D.C.

Are you researching the intersection between public administration and nonprofit studies or public policy and nonprofit studies ?

If so, please read the attached call and submit a paper to

Papers submitted for the Special Issue will be presented at a symposium hosted by the Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration at the George Washington University, June 7. GWU will pay for all travel.

If you are not able to make the symposium or have additional questions please e-mail Jasmine,

Nominate someone for an award here

Man in a swimming costume standing with two trophies

From AOM’s Organizations and the Natural Environment (ONE) Division:

The ONE Awards Committee has posted calls for nominations and submission for the following ONE Awards:

ONE Dissertation Award
ONE Book Award
ONE Emerging Scholar Award
ONE Distinguished Scholar Award
ONE-NBS Research Impact on Practice Award

A more detailed description of and the submission process for each award can be found on the ONE home page at

We encourage qualified applicants to send in their materials by April 30th to the respective award committee (see each individual Awards Call for details), and copying the Sukhbir Sandhu of the ONE Awards Committee –

Thank you for your interest!

Judith Walls, Sukhbir Sandhu, & Raymond Paquin

ONE Awards Committee

NASPAA Announces 2015 Award Recipients for Outstanding Achievement in Public Service

A trifecta for UGA: Hal Rainey, Jekyung Lee, and (new faculty member) Tyler Scott!

NASPAA Announces 2015 Award Recipients for Outstanding Achievement in Public Service

Best Dissertation Award: Tyler Scott, University of Washington

Dissertation Title: Do All of These Meetings Matter? Three Essays Concerning the Impact of Collaborative Watershed Governance

(Award Committee Members: Mary Beth Walker, Georgia State University; Göktuğ Morçöl, Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg; Art Sementelli, Florida Atlantic University; Gary Marshall, University of Nebraska Omaha; Stephen Page, University of Washington; John McNutt, University of Delaware; Ken Button, George Mason University; Tom Rabovsky, Indiana University, Bloomington; Evgenia Gorina, The University of Texas at Dallas; Jerrell Coggburn, North Carolina State University)

William Duncombe Excellence in Doctoral Education Award: Hal Rainey, The University of Georgia

(Award Committee Members: Phil Joyce, University of Maryland; Katherine Willoughby, Georgia State University; Stuart Bretschneider, Syracuse University)

Pi Alpha Alpha Doctoral Manuscript Award: Jekyung Lee, The University of Georgia

Title: Goal Ambiguity and Job Satisfaction in U.S. Federal Agencies

(Award Committee Members: Craig Shinn, Portland State University; Amanda Olejarski, Shippensburg University; John Rivera, University of Guam)

Leslie A. Whittington Excellence in Teaching Award: Beverly Cigler, Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg

(Award Committee Members: Sheldon Edner, George Mason University; Uday Desai, University of New Mexico; Denise Scheberle, University of Colorado Denver)

Staats Emerging Scholars Award: Katie Vinopal, American University; Will Swan, Florida State University; Jeongyoon Lee, The University of Albany – SUNY; David Carter, University of Colorado Denver

(Award Committee Members: Burt Barnow, George Washington University; Trevor Brown, The Ohio State University; Kirsten Grønbjerg, Indiana University, Bloomington)

Diversity Award: University of Connecticut

(Award Committee Members: Blue Wooldridge, Virginia Commonwealth University; Brandi Blessett, Rutgers University – Camden; Kris Norman-Major, Hamline University)

Social Equity Award: The New School

(Award Committee Members: Mohamad Alkadry, Florida International University; Mary Hamilton, University of Nebraska Omaha; Christina Medina, New Mexico State University, Lina Svedin, University of Utah)

Pi Alpha Alpha Masters Manuscript Award: Sandra Matar, University of Massachusetts Boston

Manuscript Title: A “Social” Government: Municipal Use of Social Media In Massachusetts

(Award Committee Members: Craig Shinn, Portland State University; Amanda Olejarski, Shippensburg University; John Rivera, University of Guam)

Journal of Public Affairs Education Outstanding Article Award: Roger Rose, University of Minnesota, Morris

Manuscript: Student Preferences for Federal, State, and Local Government Careers: National Opportunities and Local Service Volume 21(1) February 2015

(Award Committee Chairs: David Schultz, Hamline University; Marieka Klawitter, University of Washington)