Nominate someone for an award here

Man in a swimming costume standing with two trophies

From AOM’s Organizations and the Natural Environment (ONE) Division:

The ONE Awards Committee has posted calls for nominations and submission for the following ONE Awards:

ONE Dissertation Award
ONE Book Award
ONE Emerging Scholar Award
ONE Distinguished Scholar Award
ONE-NBS Research Impact on Practice Award

A more detailed description of and the submission process for each award can be found on the ONE home page at

We encourage qualified applicants to send in their materials by April 30th to the respective award committee (see each individual Awards Call for details), and copying the Sukhbir Sandhu of the ONE Awards Committee –

Thank you for your interest!

Judith Walls, Sukhbir Sandhu, & Raymond Paquin

ONE Awards Committee

NASPAA Announces 2015 Award Recipients for Outstanding Achievement in Public Service

A trifecta for UGA: Hal Rainey, Jekyung Lee, and (new faculty member) Tyler Scott!

NASPAA Announces 2015 Award Recipients for Outstanding Achievement in Public Service

Best Dissertation Award: Tyler Scott, University of Washington

Dissertation Title: Do All of These Meetings Matter? Three Essays Concerning the Impact of Collaborative Watershed Governance

(Award Committee Members: Mary Beth Walker, Georgia State University; Göktuğ Morçöl, Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg; Art Sementelli, Florida Atlantic University; Gary Marshall, University of Nebraska Omaha; Stephen Page, University of Washington; John McNutt, University of Delaware; Ken Button, George Mason University; Tom Rabovsky, Indiana University, Bloomington; Evgenia Gorina, The University of Texas at Dallas; Jerrell Coggburn, North Carolina State University)

William Duncombe Excellence in Doctoral Education Award: Hal Rainey, The University of Georgia

(Award Committee Members: Phil Joyce, University of Maryland; Katherine Willoughby, Georgia State University; Stuart Bretschneider, Syracuse University)

Pi Alpha Alpha Doctoral Manuscript Award: Jekyung Lee, The University of Georgia

Title: Goal Ambiguity and Job Satisfaction in U.S. Federal Agencies

(Award Committee Members: Craig Shinn, Portland State University; Amanda Olejarski, Shippensburg University; John Rivera, University of Guam)

Leslie A. Whittington Excellence in Teaching Award: Beverly Cigler, Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg

(Award Committee Members: Sheldon Edner, George Mason University; Uday Desai, University of New Mexico; Denise Scheberle, University of Colorado Denver)

Staats Emerging Scholars Award: Katie Vinopal, American University; Will Swan, Florida State University; Jeongyoon Lee, The University of Albany – SUNY; David Carter, University of Colorado Denver

(Award Committee Members: Burt Barnow, George Washington University; Trevor Brown, The Ohio State University; Kirsten Grønbjerg, Indiana University, Bloomington)

Diversity Award: University of Connecticut

(Award Committee Members: Blue Wooldridge, Virginia Commonwealth University; Brandi Blessett, Rutgers University – Camden; Kris Norman-Major, Hamline University)

Social Equity Award: The New School

(Award Committee Members: Mohamad Alkadry, Florida International University; Mary Hamilton, University of Nebraska Omaha; Christina Medina, New Mexico State University, Lina Svedin, University of Utah)

Pi Alpha Alpha Masters Manuscript Award: Sandra Matar, University of Massachusetts Boston

Manuscript Title: A “Social” Government: Municipal Use of Social Media In Massachusetts

(Award Committee Members: Craig Shinn, Portland State University; Amanda Olejarski, Shippensburg University; John Rivera, University of Guam)

Journal of Public Affairs Education Outstanding Article Award: Roger Rose, University of Minnesota, Morris

Manuscript: Student Preferences for Federal, State, and Local Government Careers: National Opportunities and Local Service Volume 21(1) February 2015

(Award Committee Chairs: David Schultz, Hamline University; Marieka Klawitter, University of Washington)

CFP: Experiments on Environmental and Natural Resource Policies

In the mail. Apologies for formatting:

Call for Papers

Special Issue of Strategic Behavior and the Environment

“Experiments on Environmental and Natural Resource Policies”

Guest editors: Stephan Kroll and Jordan Suter

Policy-makers are considering an increasingly diverse set of innovative policies to tackle environmental and natural resource problems such as local pollution, resource conservation, or climate change. While the economic theory underlying many such policies is well established, we still know relatively little about behavioral responses to these policies, which ultimately determine their overall effectiveness.

For this special issue of Strategic Behavior and the Environment we invite papers that employ experiments to investigate environmental and natural resource policies. Examples of potential topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Efficiency and effectiveness of environmental and natural resource (ENR) policies
  • Strategic and behavioral responses to ENR policies
  • Distributional and fairness considerations
  • The role of revenue use (i.e., earmarking)
  • Acceptability and feasibility of ENR policies
  • Information provision measures
  • Centralized versus decentralized policy measures
  • Interaction of ENR policies with market structures
  • Cultural differences in responses to ENR policies

We welcome submissions of all kinds, including

  • lab experiments
  • field experiments
  • experiments tied to agent-based models
  • theoretical and empirical models based on results from previous experiments


All appropriate papers will be peer-reviewed. Manuscripts should be prepared according to the guidelines outlined on the website of Strategic Behavior ( Manuscripts should be submitted by March 10, 2016 through that website or directly to Authors should indicate “Special Issue Environmental Policies” as article type, and also indicate in the cover letter that the manuscript should be considered for the special issue on “Experiments on Environmental and Natural Resource Policies.”

If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Zac Rolnik
now publishers
po box 1024
hanover, ma 02339 usa
t. +1-781-871-0245
f. +1-781-871-6172
m. +1-781-985-4510

The MPSA’s new Kenneth J. Meier Award

The Midwest Political Science Association has established a new annual award recognizing outstanding scholarship in politics, public administration, and public policy in honor of Kenneth J. Meier, Distinguished Professor and Director of the Project for Equity, Representation & Governance at Texas A&M University. The inaugural award will recognize the best paper in bureaucratic politics, public administration, or public policy presented at the 2015 MPSA conference and is scheduled to be presented at MPSA’s 74th annual conference in April 2016 at the Palmer House in Chicago.

From MPSA.

CFP: Experiments, replication and knowledge in public management research

Special issue of Public Management Review, schedule for publication 18(6) December 2016

‘Experiments, replication and knowledge in public management research’

Guest editors: Richard M. Walker, Director, Public Management Evidence Lab, City University of Hong Kong, Professor Oliver James, Department of Politics, University of Exeter, UK, and Professor Gene A. Brewer, Department of Public Administration and Policy, University of Georgia, USA

Read more